clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bednarik Watch List Confirms MSU Football Has Good Defense

Getty Images

The football season isn't here yet, but Monday kicked off the award watch list season.

The Maxwell Football Club began things by announcing the watch lists for the Maxwell Award (most outstanding player) and Bednarik Award (top defensive player), and MSU is well-represented.

Le'Veon Bell is on the Maxwell list, while Johnny Adams, Denicos Allen, Max Bullough and William Gholston are on the Bednarik list. MSU, LSU and Alabama are the only teams with four players on the Bednarik list. Apparently, MSU is supposed to have a good defense. Who knew?

Check the link above for the full lists, as well as the schedule of future list releases. Tomorrow, the Mackey Award (top tight end) and Rimington Trophy (top center) lists will be released. I'm not expecting a Spartan to be on either one, but Dion Sims and Travis Jackson could see their names there.