clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Percy Snow to be inducted into College Football Hall of Fame

USA Today sports

MSU has its 11th member of the College Football Hall of Fame with Tuesday's announcement that former Spartan linebacker Percy Snow will be enshrined with the class of 2013 in December.

Snow amassed 473 tackles from 1986-89, anchoring George Perles' defenses that helped get MSU to its most-recent Rose Bowl in the 1987 season. His 473 tackles are second-most in school history. He was a two-time first-team All-American and three-time first-team All-Big Ten selection.

As a senior in 1989, Snow became the first player ever to win the Butkus and Lombardi awards in the same season. He had 172 tackles that season.

"This is the highest individual honor, but it certainly isn't something I could have accomplished alone," Snow said in a release. "This is the result of teamwork. My teammates and coaches all played a vital role. I'm both humble and grateful for this recognition, and I accept this honor on behalf of Michigan State University.

"There's no other place like Michigan State. When I talked to other guys I played with (in the pros), some of them didn't talk about their universities. In fact, some had never returned to campus after they left. But when I come here, every time I come back to the university, I see a glow. It lights up, it starts all over again for me."

From MSU:

Snow becomes the seventh former Michigan State player to be selected for the College Football Hall of Fame, joining halfback John Pingel (inducted in 1968), tackle Don Coleman (1975), linebacker George Webster (1987), defensive end Bubba Smith (1988), safety Brad Van Pelt (2001) and wide receiver Gene Washington (2011). As MSU's latest inductee into the College Football Hall of Fame, his name will be added to Spartan Stadium's "Ring of Fame" at the Nov. 2 game against Michigan (kickoff TBD).

Snow will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame at the NFF College Football Hall of Fame's 56th Annual Awards Dinner Dec. 10 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City.

Former MSU coaches Charlie Bachman, Biggie Munn, Duffy Daugherty and Muddy Waters also are in the Hall of Fame.

Former Spartan players Kirk Gibson and Lorenzo White were among 75 semifinalists for selection.

Congrats to Percy.