clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The SB Nation B1G Hockey Awards: How I Voted

SBN College Hockey released the 2014-15 B1G postseason awards today

Mike Carter-USA TODAY Sports

SB Nation College Hockey and the great Nathan Wells recently collected votes on the 2014-15 B1G Hockey season awards from B1G media. Nate was nice enough to count my vote as a B1G media member (I know hilarious right?) and I want to thank him for the opportunity to participate in both the pre and post-season voting. Be sure to check out the post over at SBN College Hockey here and be sure to read their website this weekend as Nate will be in Detroit for the B1G Tournament.

My picks this year actually matched up pretty well with the rest of the media, as we matched on the individual awards and mostly everywhere in the All-B1G team selections. Check out my picks below and how they matched to the rest of the B1G media who participated in this poll.

B1G Player of the Year

Winner and my pick: Zach Hyman-Michigan

Others receiving votes: Jake Hildebrand-Michigan State, Mike Reilly-Minnesota

I looked at this award outside of just conference play and that is what swung my vote to Hyman over Hildebrand. While Hildebrand is the key to his team's success more than Hyman and has had an amazing conference run, I could not move on from the inconsistent play of Hildebrand in non-conference play. Call me out for trying not to look like a homer but I just felt Hyman was the best individual player in the league this season.

B1G Coach of the Year

Winner and my pick: Guy Gadowsky-Penn State

Others receiving votes: Tom Anastos-Michigan State, Don Lucia-Minneosta

This category was pretty weak to pick from this season. Michigan and Minnesota, if anything under-performed, so rule out Lucia and Berenson for me. No way you can go with Mike Eaves at Wisconsin and Ohio State finished behind Anastos and Gadowsky. I went with Gadowsky because his team was at club status 4 seasons ago and they were picked to finish last and he had Penn State playing for a top two finish on the final weekend of the season.

B1G Freshman of the Year

Winner and my pick: Dylan Larkin-Michigan

Others receiving votes: Zach Werenski-Michigan

This was easy to pick. Moving on to the All-B1G Teams

All B1G First Team

Position My Pick Actual Pick
Forward Dylan Larkin-Michigan Casey Bailey-Penn State
Forward Kyle Rau-Minnesota Kyle Rau-Minnesota
Forward Zach Hyman-Michigan Zach Hyman-Michigan
Defense Mike Reilly-Minnesota Mike Reilly-Minnesota
Defense Zach Werenski-Michigan Zach Werenski-Michigan
Goalie Jake Hildebrand-Michigan State Jake Hildebrand-Michigan State

The only difference here was me valuing Dylan Larkin over Casey Bailey. Larkin probably gets hurt a little bit by playing with Hyman on his line, so how much of his success was of his own doing? I feel they were the most dynamic duo in the league and rank Larkin over Bailey but have no problem with Bailey being up there.

All B1G Second Team

Position My Pick Actual Pick
Forward Travis Boyd-Minnesota Travis Boyd-Minnesota
Forward Taylor Holstrom-Penn State Taylor Holstrom-Penn State
Forward Andrew Copp-Michigan Dylan Larkin-Michigan
Defense Brady Skjei-Minnesota Brady Skjei-Minnesota
Defense Travis Walsh-Michigan State Travis Walsh-Michigan State
Goalie Adam Wilcox-Minnesota Adam Wilcox-Minnesota

The only difference here is bumping Copp out since Larkin moves down. Clearly I am not going to be welcome in the Casey Bailey household anytime soon.

All B1G Freshman Team

Position My Pick Actual Pick
Forward Dylan Larkin-Michigan Dylan Larkin-Michigan
Forward Scott Conway-Penn State Scott Conway-Penn State
Forward Leon Bristedt-Minnesota Matthew Weis-Ohio State
Defense Zach Werenski-Michigan Zach Werenski-Michigan
Defense Josh Jacobs-Michigan State Josh Jacobs-Michigan State

We didn't select a goalie since no freshman goalie played a full game this season. Good for Ohio State to put a player on a team.