clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2017 College Football Hall of Fame Ballot Released

Gibson, Anderson, and White Listed As Nominees

NCAA Football: Big Ten Championship-Iowa vs Michigan State Aaron Doster-USA TODAY Sports

The ballot for the 2017 College Football Hall of Fame was released and it features 3 former Spartans. The three Spartans are former place kicker Morten Anderson, MSU Wide Receiver and MLB Star Kirk Gibson and running back Lorenzo White.

Morten Anderson, also known as "The Great Dane" was a place kicker for Michigan State from 1978-1981. He led the Spartans in points for three of those seasons and holds the record for the longest kick in MSU history at 61 yards. Anderson went on to an incredibly successful NFL career. He played 25 seasons for 5 different teams and is currently the all-time points leader in the history of the NFL (2,544).

Kirk Gibson was a receiver for the Spartans where his 1978 season still ranks as one of the best in the history of MSU. That year, Gibson was named First Team All-American, led Big Ten in receiving in league play & helped the Spartans to a Big Ten Co-Championship and a No.12 national ranking (per Football Foundation). Gibson also played in the Major Leagues for 17 seasons, including two World Series wins with the Tigers in '84 and the Dodgers in '88.

Lorenzo White was a running back for Michigan State and is widely considered the greatest rusher in school history. With career stats of 4887 yards and 43 rushing touchdowns from 1984 to 1987, White lead the Spartans to victory in the 1987 Rose Bowl and was twice voted first team All-American. White had an 8 year career in the NFL that included a Pro Bowl season in 1992 for the Houston Oilers where he rushed for 1,226 yards and 8 total touchdowns.

Voting for the class will complete on June 20th and the class will be announced on Friday, Jan. 6, 2017, in Tampa (the site of the College Football Championship)