clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Brian Lewerke, Felton Davis and several other Spartans earn Big Ten honors

Michigan State v Rutgers Photo by Jeff Zelevansky/Getty Images

The Big Ten regular season has been wrapped up, and the season awards are starting to be announced. The votes from the media and coaches have been counted and several Spartans have been recognized.

Let’s start with Michigan State sophomore quarterback, Brian Lewerke, who was named as a Big Ten Sportsmanship Honoree. This list includes only 14 players — one representative from each team in the conference.

Next up, let’s look at the All-Big Ten offensive teams. Three Michigan State players received honors here. Senior offensive center, and captain, Brian Allen was named to the All-Big Ten Offense Second team by both the media and the coaches.

Junior wide receiver Felton Davis III was selected to the All-Big Ten second team by the media and the All-Big Ten Third team by the coaches. Davis finished the season with 51 catches for 658 yards and eight touchdowns, while averaging nearly 13 yards per reception.

David Beedle, a junior offensive guard, was also recognized. Beedle made the All-Big Ten Offense Third Team, according to both the coaches and the media.

Defensively, four Spartans saw their names on the list. Sophomore safety David Dowell is the lone Michigan State player to receive first-team honors, as the media voted him on. He was a big play-maker for the Spartans. Dowell had five interceptions, including two games with two interceptions. He also had 48 total tackles, four passes defended and two fumble recoveries.

The media also voted freshman cornerback Josiah Scott, sophomore and former walk-on defensive end Kenny Willekes and sophomore middle linebacker Joe Bachie to the All-Big Ten Defense Third Team.

Interestingly enough, the coaches did not vote in Dowell or Scott at all. They did include both Bachie and Willekes as All-Big Ten Defense Third Team selections, however.

Looking at special teams, both redshirt freshman kicker Matt Coghlin and junior punter Jake Hartbarger received honorable mentions from the media.

Elsewhere, four Spartans made the Big Ten Network All-Freshmen Team. These player include Coghlin, Scott, wide reciver Cody White and right tackle Luke Campbell. Right guard Kevin Jarvis earned honorable mention honors. Check out the full list here.

Go Green!