clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Running Back LJ Scott Makes Maxwell Award Watch List

Michigan State v Penn State Photo by Brett Carlsen/Getty Images

Good news has been hard to come by this offseason for the Michigan State Spartans, but there was an encouraging announcement made today.

Junior running back, LJ Scott, has been named to the preseason Maxwell Award Watch List, per the Maxwell Football Club.

The Maxwell Award is given to America’s College Football Player of the Year. It has been awarded to a player every year since 1937. The only Spartan to win the Maxwell Award was linebacker Brad Van Pelt in 1972.

The watch list currently consists of 85 players, and 11 from the Big Ten — Scott, J.T. Barrett, Saquon Barkley, Justin Jackson, Trace McSorley, Rodeny Smith, WIlton Speight (really?), Clayton Thorson, Akrum Wadley, Mike Weber and Janarion Grant.

Scott was Michigan State’s leading rusher in 2016 with 994 yards and six rushing touchdowns, which earned him a spot on the third team All-Big Ten list. He has rushed for 1,693 yards and 17 touchdowns during his career, with an impressive 5.1 yards per carry average.

While this is just a preseason list, with several players included, it is certainly an honor to be recognized for having Maxwell potential.

Semifinalists for the award will be announced on Oct. 30, while the three finalists will be declared on Nov. 20. The winner will be unveiled at the College Football Awards Show in December.


Does LJ Scott have what it takes to win a Maxwell Award in his career?

This poll is closed

  • 79%
    (55 votes)
  • 20%
    (14 votes)
69 votes total Vote Now