clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Michigan State alum Ryan Miller makes NHL history for most wins by an American goaltender

NHL: Washington Capitals at Anaheim Ducks Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

Former Michigan State Spartans goalie Ryan Miller has made National Hockey League history — he now has the most career wins by an American goaltender.

Miller was actually born in East Lansing. He played for Michigan State in three seasons from the 1999-2000 campaign through the 2001-2002 season. He is MSU’s all-time leader in goals against average (1.54), save percentage (.941) and career shutouts (26 — which also set an NCAA record).

Miller’s 375 career wins pass John Vanbiesbrouck (who is also a Michigan-born player). Vanbiesbrouck is a United State Hockey Hall of Famer who played for five different NHL teams over a 21-year career.

Originally drafted by the Buffalo Sabres with the 138th overall pick of the 1999 draft, Miller made his Sabres debut in 2002. In 11 seasons with Buffalo, Miller holds the franchise record for games played with 540, goaltender minutes with 31,661, career wins with 284 and most wins in a season with 41. Miller won the Vezina Trophy in 2010 with the Sabres, which is awarded annually to the NHL’s top goaltender.

Miller has also played for the St. Louis Blues, Vancouver Canucks and currently for the Anaheim Ducks. The Ducks defeated the Washington Capitals last night, which gave Miller career win No. 365. He has only started eight games this season, posting a record of 5-2-1.

Additionally, Miller was selected to compete for Team USA in the Winter Olympics in 2010 and 2014. He led Team USA to a Silver Medal in the 2010 games, but the team was minutes away from a Gold Medal, eventually losing 3-2 in overtime. He was named the Olympic MVP that year. Miller still holds the Team USA record for best career goals against average, posting a ridiculously impressive mark of 1.30. He played just one game in the 2014 competition, which was a win.

During his time at Michigan State, Miller won the Hobey Baker Award in 2001, which is given to the top hockey player in the entire NCAA. He also won the Big Ten-Jesse Owens Men’s Athlete of The Year Award in 2001. If this wasn’t enough he won the Central Collegiate Hockey Association (CCHA) Goaltender of the Year award in all three of his collegiate seasons with Michigan State as well.

Congratulations, Ryan!