clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Michigan State Hockey: Mitchell Lewandowski Returning Next Season

Lewandowski will exercise his extra year of eligibility to return to East Lansing next season.

Syndication: Lansing State Journal Nick King/Lansing State Journal via Imagn Content Services, LLC

After leading the Michigan State Spartans in points and shots this past season, senior forward Mitchell Lewandowski has announced he is returning to East Lansing next year. The NCAA granted all winter athletes the option for an extra season of eligibility due to COVID-19, and Lewandowksi plans to take advantage of that measure.

Lewandowski is the sole senior returning for an extra year, according to the hockey program when the news was announced. Fellow seniors Brody Stevens and Tommy Miller have entered the transfer portal. Miller was a team co-captain this past season.

Lewandowski led MSU with 13 points (six goals, which is tied for first on the team, and seven assists) and in shots (68) in his senior season. Lewandowski was also the Big Ten Freshman of the Year in his first season along with earning the only unanimous selection to the Big Ten All-Freshman Team. He also earned All-Big Ten honorable mention recognition his freshman, sophomore, and junior years. “Lewy” was voted an assistant co-captain in 2020-2021.

Lewandowski played in all 27 games this past season and recorded his 100th career point in the regular season finale against Wisconsin. He became just the 17th Spartan since 2000, and 71st in program history, to reach the 100 career point mark.

The other seniors for the team Tommy Apap, Gianluca Esteves, Jake Smith and Austin Kamer have yet to make a decision whether to play another year of college via the transfer portal or to turn pro. Meanwhile, MSU graduate student and forward Charlie Combs signed a professional contract with the ECHL’s Wichita Thunder last week.

The Spartans are likely looking for another player via the transfer portal in addition to the five players signed last month for the incoming class of 2021.